Energy and Nuclear Security Research at UIUC

Energy and nuclear security are two equally important areas of security which are combined together here both because of their similarities and because a number of researches are done in the overlap of these areas.

Energy Security primarily includes aspects of the reliable delivery of energy supplies as affected by the type of energy technologies in use. It also deals with man-made and natural interruptions of energy supplies, and the robustness of systems to prevention of and response to interruptions of energy supplies. Access to relatively cheap energy is essential to the functioning of modern economies while uneven distribution of energy supplies among countries leads to significant vulnerabilities. This makes energy security an area concerning not only the environment and the quality of life, but also international politics.

Nuclear Security includes technology relevant to nuclear weapons, security aspects of commercial use of nuclear energy, and unintended and intentionally caused exposures to radiological hazards. Nuclear energy and weapons that make use of it aren’t present in every country. But the greater risks of destruction compared to any other weapon or source of energy, combined with more countries getting access to it, make this a major area of security for the whole world.

Full NameEmailDepartmentTitlePublishing Date
William Roywroy@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)The Environmental Fate and Movement of Organic Solvents in Water, Soil, and Air2000-01-01
Paolo Gardonigardoni@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringNuclear energy, the capability approach, and the developing world2015-08-01
Clair Sullivancjsulli@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Radiation Detection and Measurement in the Handbook of Measurement in Sci & Eng2016-04-01
Karen Hogenboomhogenboo@illinois.eduUniversity LibraryLessons learned about access to government information after World War II can be applied after September 112007-01-01
Martin KalinowskiWebsiteUnknownA review of the developments of radioxenon detectors for nuclear explosion monitoring2017-09-01
Todd Robinsontrobinso@rand.orgUnconventional WeaponsWhat Do We Mean By Nuclear Proliferation?2015-01-01
Kathryn Huffkdhuff@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Benefits of siting a borehole repository on non-operating nuclear facility2017-01-01
Zahra Mohagheghzahra13@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)An integrated methodology for spatio-temporal incorporation of underlying failure mechanisms into fire probabilistic risk assessment of nuclear power plants2018-01-01
Roy Axfordr-axford@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)A Sensitivity Analysis of Nuclear Assembly Extinction Probabilities: Application to Reevaluated Fission Multiplicity Data2010-01-01
Tomasz Kozlowskitxk@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Criticality and uncertainty assessment of assembly misloading in BWR transportation cask2018-03-01
David Millerdmiller@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)North American Pressurized Water Reactor 1999 Occupational Dose Analysis, 1999 ISOE NEA/IAEA Annual Report2000-11-01
Magdi Raghebmragheb@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Nuclear Naval Propulsion2011-01-01
Caleb Brookscsbrooks@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Experimental investigation of natural circulation instability in a BWR-type small modular reactor2015-11-01
James Stubbinsjstubbin@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Energy Efficiency, and Cost of Synthetic Fuel Production Using Electrochemical CO2 Conversion and the Fischer-Tropsch Process2016-07-21
Angela Di Fulviodifulvio@illinois.eduNuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering (NPRE)Organic Scintillator For Real-time Neutron Dosimetry2017-11-15