Physical Security Research at UIUC

Physical Security includes the study of the unfolding and consequences of violent conflict, including hazards from munitions, landmines and from small arms. It can also deal with weapons delivery systems, forensic technology in national and international contexts, and use of remotely operated devices and robotics in surveillance, attacks, and explosive detection and disposal. Even though we are living in the most peaceful century of human history, conflict exists from the war in Syria to territorial disputes in the South China Sea and the increasing level of technological development in the defense industry require a greater amount of effort in maintaining physical security around the world.

Full NameEmailDepartmentTitlePublishing Date
Carol Leffleffc@illinois.eduPolitical ScienceCzech political developments since 1993: Some comments2017-01-01
Kevin Hamiltonkham@illinois.eduFine and Applied ArtsLookout America!: The Secret Hollywood Studio at the Heart of the Cold War2018-12-04
Matthew Wintersmwinters@illinois.eduPolitical ScienceForeign aid, foreign policy, and domestic government legitimacy: Experimental evidence from Bangladesh2018-01-01
Lesley Wexlerlmwexler@illinois.eduLawFirst 100 Days: Laws of War and the Valuation of Foreign Lives at Zero2017
John Vasquezvasqueja@illinois.eduPolitical ScienceDefense pacts and deterrence: Caveat emptor2017-01-01
Colleen Murphycolleenm@illinois.eduPolitical SciencePolitical reconciliation, the rule of law, and truces2017-01-02
Linda Herreralherrera@illinois.eduEducationOn silencing the next generation: Legacies of the 1974 Ethiopian revolution on youth political engagement2016-01-01
Hadi Esfahaniesfahani@illinois.eduBusinessFading attraction: Turkey's shifting relationship with the European Union2013-11-01
Frederick Lambfkl@illinois.eduPhysicsBoost-phase defense against intercontinental ballistic missiles2004
John Lynnjohnlynn@illinois.eduHistoryAnother Kind of War: The Nature and History of Terrorism (in Press and On-Going)2019
Timothy Wedigtwedig@illinois.eduGlobal StudiesThe Internet and Political Organizations: Force, Tool, or Wildcard?2007-11-26
Stephen CohenWebsitePolitical ScienceIndia-U.S: Relations in transition2016-06-06
Paul Diehlpdiehl@utdallas.eduPolitical ScienceBorder Settlement and the Movement Toward and From Negative Peace2017
Ryan Hendricksonlrchendrickson@eiu.eduPolitical ScienceThe Out of Iraq Caucus and Congressional Foreign Policy Assertiveness2009
Kristin Hogansonhoganson@illinois.eduHistoryThe Imperial Politics of Globavore Consumption in the Late Ninteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries2013
Roger Kanetrkanet@miami.eduInternational RelationsRussia in the New International Order: Theories, Arguments, Debates2012-07
Edward Kolodziejedkoloj@illinois.eduPolitical ScienceFrom Superpower to Besieged Global Power: Restoring World Order after the Failure of the Bush Doctrine2008
Dinshaw Mistrydinshaw.mistry@uc.eduPolitical ScienceAligning Unevenly: India and The United States2016
Ned O'Gormannogorman@illinois.eduCommunicationA fearful engine of power: conceptualizing the communication–security relationship2017
Steven Radilsradil@uidaho.eduGeographyThe Territorial Contours of Terrorism: A Conceptual Model of Territory for Non-state Violence2018-04-09
Hyungchul Yoonhyung@mtu.eduCivil and Enviro EngEnabling smart city resilience: Post-disaster response and structural health monitoring2018-12
Antonio Sotomayorasotomay@illinois.eduLatin American StudiesThe Cold War Games of a Colonial Latin American Nation: San Juan, Puerto Rico, 1966.2014