Information Security Research at UIUC

Information security , also known as Cyber Security is the detection and prevention of vulnerabilities and attacks that lead to theft of information or damages to hardware, software, or data of computer systems. The increase in the amount of new hardware and software that get released and their increasing number of users cause new vulnerabilities and attacks to be found every day. Due to its complexity, both in terms of politics and technology, it is also one of the major challenges of the contemporary world.

On top of cyber security, information security is also about the role of information and communications technologies in shedding light on issues such as vulnerability of children and adults to domestic violence, oppression, and/or exploitation.

Full NameEmailDepartmentTitlePublishing Date
Carl Guntercgunter@illinois.eduComputer ScienceNRF: A naive re-identification framework2018-10-15
Masooda Bashirmnb@illinois.eduInformation SciencesPrivacy and security of cardiovascular implantable electronic devices: Applying a contextual integrity analysis2018-1-1
William Sanderswhs@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineerinAn Ontology Framework for Generating Discrete-Event Stochastic Models2018-1-1
Zbigniew Kalbarczykkalbarcz@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringPoster: Indirect cyber attacks by perturbation of environment control: A data driven attack model2018-4-10
Yih-Chun Huyihchun@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringBGP with BGPsec: Attacks and Countermeasures2018-1-1
Nicol Daviddmnicol@illinois.eduComputer ScienceSecurity risk assessment for SDN-enabled smart grids2019-1-1
Tao Xietaoxie@illinois.eduComputer ScienceMining android app descriptions for permission requirements recommendation2018-10-12
Tarek Abdelzaherzaher@illinois.eduComputer ScienceA Command-by-Intent Architecture for Battlefield Information Acquisition Systems2018-9-5
Stephen Levinsonselevins@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringFuture direction2014-1-1
Christopher Fletchercwfletch@illinois.eduComputer ScienceInvisispec: Making speculative execution invisible in the cache hierarchy2018-12-12
Jian Huangjianh@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringFlashGuard: Leveraging intrinsic flash properties to defend against encryption ransomware2017-10-30
Adam Batesbatesa@illinois.eduComputer ScienceAliDrone: Enabling trustworthy proof-of-alibi for commercial drone compliance2018-7-19
Robin Kravetsrhk@illinois.eduComputer ScienceCryptoCop: Lightweight, energy-efficient encryption and privacy for wearable devices2016-6-30
Deming Chendchen@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringAcoustic landmarks contain more information about the phone string than other frames for automatic speech recognition with deep neural network acoustic model2018-6-1
Miller Andrewnsoc1024@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringAuthenticated Data Structures for Privacy-Preserving Monero Light Clients2018-7-6
Negar Kiyavashkiyavash@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringA covert queueing channel in fcfs schedulers2018-6-1
Deming Chendchen@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringAcoustic landmarks contain more information about the phone string than other frames for automatic speech recognition with deep neural network acoustic model2018-6-1
Michael Baileymdbailey@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringMeasuring ethereum network peers2018-10-31
Jose Meseguermeseguer@illinois.eduComputer ScienceModular Verification of Sequential Composition for Private Channels in Maude-NPA2018-1-1
Haitham Al-Hassaniehhaitham@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringEnabling dense spatial reuse in mmWave networks2018-8-7
Vikram Advevadve@illinois.eduComputer ScienceHPVM: Heterogeneous parallel virtual machine2018-2-10
Kumar Rakeshrakeshk@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringMelody: Synthesized datasets for evaluating intrusion detection systems for the smart grid2018-1-4
Darko Marinovmarinov@illinois.eduComputer ScienceTrade-offs in continuous integration: Assurance, security, and flexibility2017-8-21
Michael Shawmjshaw@illinois.eduBusiness AdministrationThe impact of business analytics strategy on social, mobile, and cloud computing adoption2014-1-1
Kevin Changkcchang@illinois.eduComputer ScienceAuthenticity and credibility aware detection of adverse drug events from social media2018-12-1
Klara Nahrstedtklara@illinois.eduComputer ScienceAliDrone: Enabling trustworthy proof-of-alibi for commercial drone compliance2018-7-19
Romit Choudhurytcroy@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringEnabling dense spatial reuse in mmWave networks2018-8-7
James Basneyjbasney@illinois.eduNational Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA)SciTokens: Capability-based secure access to remote scientific data2018-7-22
Tamer Basarbasar1@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringA bayesian multi-armed bandit approach for identifying human vulnerabilities2018-1-1
Sibin Mohansibin@illinois.eduComputer ScienceA design-space exploration for allocating security tasks in multicore real-Time systems2018-4-19
Cedric Langbortlangbort@illinois.eduAerospace EngineeringDetection and mitigation of biasing attacks on distributed estimation networks2019-1-1
Petros Voulgarisvoulgari@illinois.eduAerospace EngineeringSecurity via multirate control in cyber–physical systems2019-2-1
Nitin Vaidyanhv@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringCollaborative defense against data injection attack in IEC61850 based smart substations2016-11-10
Yuguo Chenyuguo@illinois.eduStatisticsExponential random graph models for networks resilient to targeted attacks2015-1-1
Jay Kesankesan@illinois.eduLawReducing Informational Disadvantages to Improve Cyber Risk Management 2018-4-1
Christoforos Hadjicostischadjic@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringDetection of collaborative cyber-attacks through correlation and time dependency analysis2016
Mahesh Viswanathanvmahesh@illinois.eduComputer ScienceModel checking indistinguishability of randomized security protocols2018-1-1
Iyer Ravishankarrkiyer@illinois.eduElectrical and Computer EngineeringPoster: Indirect cyber attacks by perturbation of environment control: A data driven attack model2018-4-10