Water, Food, and Environmental Security Research at UIUC

The fields of Food, Water, and Environmental Security are important areas of security as they are directly connected to human survivability. While the these are three areas of security that are separate, they were combined into one section here because of their similarities and overlaps with each other.

Food Security involves the universal access to adequate nutrition, crop and animal sciences, and agricultural engineering technology. It also includes the transportation, storage, and distribution, and the effects of interruption of food supplies that result from natural disasters and conflicts.

Water Security includes the study of the interaction of technology and social organization in the delivery and quality of water at the household, community, regional, and national levels.

Environmental Security includes persistent environmental effects from human activities, including concepts such as climate change deforestation, and soil degradation. While there is overlap between this area of security and other topical areas, Environmental Security brings a different perspective of security threats and how to mitigate issues.

Full NameEmailDepartmentTitlePublishing Date
Donald Wuebbleswuebbles@illinois.eduAtmospheric SciencesDesigning the Climate Observing System of the Future2018-1-1
Eun Chaejcha@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringThe relation between cost-benefit analysis and risk acceptance in regulatory decision-making2019-1-1
Ximing Caixmcai@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringA Holistic Framework to Assess Drought Preparedness2018-1-1
Rabin Bhattarairbhatta2@illinois.eduAgricultural and Biological EngineeringAnalysis of Long-Term Temperature Trend in Illinois and its Implication on the Cropping System2018-9-1
David Kristovichdkristo@illinois.eduAtmospheric SciencesInfluence of Lake Erie on a Lake Ontario lake-effect snowstorm2018-9-1
Beverly Wilsonbevwilso@illinois.eduUrban/Regional PlanningMapping vulnerability to extreme heat events: lessons from metropolitan Chicago2018-5-1
Megan Konarmkonar@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringTrade Openness and Domestic Water Use2018-1-1
Praveen Kumarkumar1@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringA numerical water tracer model for understanding event-scale hydrometeorological phenomena2018-6-1
Kaiyu Guankaiyug@illinois.eduNatural Resources and Environmental SciencesEnhanced canopy growth precedes senescence in 2005 and 2010 Amazonian droughts2018-6-15
Nolan Millernmiller@illinois.eduBusinessAdaptation and the Mortality Effects of Temperature Across U.S. Climate Regions2017-3-1
Jesse Ribotribot@illinois.eduGeography and GISCause and response: vulnerability and climate in the Anthropocene2014-1-1
Franklin Lombardolombaf@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringMultivariate simulation for assessing the joint wind and ice hazard in the United States2019-1-1
James LaFavejlafave@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringBoundary element detailing in special concrete structural walls2018-5-1
Benjamin Crostbencrost@illinois.eduACESClimate change, agricultural production and civil conflict: Evidence from the Philippines2018-3-1
Yanqing Lianylian@illinois.eduIllinois State Water SurveyClimate change enhances the severity and variability of drought in the Pearl River Basin in South China in the 21st century2018-2-15
Hall Bethbethhall@illinois.eduIllinois State Water SurveyVulnerability of grain crops and croplands in the Midwest to climatic variability and adaptation strategies2018-1-1
Rowell Kritenkarowell@illinois.eduLawRisk analysis of natural hazards: Interdisciplinary challenges and integrated solutions2016-1-1
Albert Valocchivalocchi@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringLattice Boltzmann simulations of liquid CO2 displacing water in a 2D heterogeneous micromodel at reservoir pressure conditions2018-5-1
Sivapalan Murugesusivapala@illinois.eduCivil EngineeringA framework for modelling the complexities of food and water security under globalisation2018-1-1
Khanna Madhukhanna1@illinois.eduAgricultural, Consumer and Environmental SciencesSustaining our natural resources in the face of increasing societal demands on agriculture: Directions for future research2018-3-1
Craig Gundersencggunder@illinois.eduAgricultural, Consumer and Environmental SciencesGrit is associated with food security among US parents and adolescents2019-1-1
Richard Akreshakresh@illinois.eduEconomicsFirst and Second Generation Impacts of the Biafran War2017-8-31
Brian Dilldill@illinois.eduSociologyThe colonial roots of inequality: access to water in urban East Africa2014-1-1
Jeanie Bukowskijbukow@bradley.eduPolitical ScienceSharing Water on the Iberian Peninsula: A Europeanisation Approach to Explaining Transboundary Cooperation2011-6-1
Shannon O'learolear@ku.eduAtmospheric SciencesClimate Science and Slow Violence: A view from political geography and STS on mobilizing technoscientific ontologies of climate change2016
J├╝rgen Scheffranjuergen.scheffran@zmaw.deIntegrative GeographyClimate and war: No clear-cut schism2013
Prasanta Kalitapkalita@illinois.eduAgricultural and Biological EngineeringRole of mechanical rice harvesting in socio-economic development of Bangladesh2018-1-1